iPhones and all that jazz

Well I got one. A bag of sand for something which is functionally not as good as the new HTC phone and I still have 12 months to go on my original 3GS, which eBay shall partly recover some of the cost on. What the hell was I thinking?

Erm… the display on this thing is absolutely awesome. Apple are bloody good at completely hyping their products, and antennagate or not (no issues here thus far) they were right about the screen. And the camera. And with the MobileMe suite the entire offering just works.

It’s what consultants term a “solution”. Normally applied to something like SAP, but slightly cheaper.

I’m a developer by trade, and after screwing around with Microsoft development products on PC’s all day in the corporate world you want something simple to do more social computer stuff with at home. Which is why I’ve had Macs since about 2001.

Prior to the iPhone, Sony Ericsson’s were the only model of phone that kinda almost synced properly with your Mac. Once the iPhone came out I was a deckchair-flask-of-tea fanboy outside the store to buy my solution (actually a further reason was a 10 hour flight to Hong Kong the following day with a 2 year old who required subduing with Kung Fu Panda and Wiggles videos on a portable device – worked a treat!).

At work I’m opening up our Exchange environment to multiple devices, including iPhones. I’ve had to put in a number of firewall/threat management server/SSL solutions (that word again!) to deal with this, and going through extensive UAT at the moment. I’m developing a fair policy around this which I hope to roll out in a month or so’s time.

There’s A LOT of opinion in opening up your Corporate network to every Tom, Dick & Harry’s device that can run ActiveSync, extensively covered in a CIO Forum discussion. My view is that in today’s environment the most important thing is to give staff multiple options for all aspects of IT (as in Microsoft products, where there’s multiple ways to skin a cat).

Particularly key in organisations with a disparate set of users with multiple requirements and light management structure. How diplomatic was that? ;o)

So roll on iPhones, Androids, iPads and all that jazz. Let you know how I go.

Leave a Reply

