#Apple #SurfaceBook … when you’re ready Tim

Macintosh_Classic_2I’m an Apple dude. Value proposition sold from my MacintPowerBook_G4_17osh Classic II  for my (shoddy) Comp. Sci. dissertation on the gusty streets of Edinburgh in 1994 to my first 17” Powerbook Aluminium G4 in 2003 which unbeknownst to me happened to coincide with the launch of OS X Panther. I’d already decided to switch – an upgrade to the OS was a
bonus! Overjoyed in the early days of Java when a bright young coder in my US team came to me with one of the company custom trading systems gamely running OS-agnostic on his Macbook as a holiday project. More gushing here.

Anyhoo – current Apple inventory consists of:

  • iPhone 6S+ 64Gb -64Gb schoolboy error; double it next time!
  • Mac Mini 2010 – 1st one with HDMI plugged into big arse TV – a respectable 2.4GHz with 4Gb RAM
  • Macbook Air 13” 2011 – 1.8Ghz proc with 4Gb RAM; still competitive with the latest Macbook – docked to:
    • Apple 2007 23” monitor (still going!)
    • Bluetooth keyboard/mouse, Mac on monitor stand
  • iPad Gen 1 64Gb 3G – 3G another schoolboy error – but it was the early days of tethering commercials negotiations with Telcos

macsTo the nub of the gist. I need a new computer. And I want to replace all the above bar the phone. What I need is:

  • 13” minimum touch screen
  • Detachable Keyboard
    • detachable tablet from keyboard (not fold around over keyboard design as HP Envy 2, Lenovo Yoga etc.)
    • keyboard when attached designed so it can actually be used as a laptop vs. a desktop lightweight keyboard; e.g. sitting on your knees on a train
    • screen when attached solid
  • Stylus – accurate with clickable pen controls
  • Connectivity – either on tablet or via (portable) docking station need at least
    • HDMI port – TV
    • Mini Display port – external monitor
    • USB schenanigans – USB schlep
  • Switchable OS mobile/full
    • mobile OS when touchscreen, full desktop OS when linked to keyboard.
    • Full desktop OS (with mouse, keyboard, external monitor) only going to cut it for productivity/multi-tasking. Split screen footering about on an iPad Pro? I don’t think so…

What sweeps the above almost is the MS Surface Book – albeit the fact it’s Windows, it’s microsoft-surface-book-detaching-the-screen_slideshow_mainApple-priced and with a bouncy screen when attached to the “miracle hinge”. Had a wee shot of the smaller Surface Pro in the Sydney Microsoft store which was pretty cool but non-lapable (as per iPad Pro).

Ah the Microsoft Store – always reminds me of the Sony Metreon centre in San Francisco in the early noughties with the first MS store I’d ever seen next to also the first Sony Store I’d seen outside Tokyo with a pile of very impressive shiney stuff. Take my money.

Over more recent years here in Sydney a tech retail hub has spawned around Pitt/George streets – proferring a plethora of Apples, Microsoft, Samsungs and Telstras with more incredibly bright lighting, light wood, big arse screens, jeans, valued individuals and lanyards than you can shake a stick at. Plenty distribution and more crucially (for non-Apple) marketing channels to scoop up the consumers.

iphone-macbook-pro-surface-book-2I note MS are pumping a more humble “Switch” campaign than Apple rocked out in the early 2000’s. I looked into switching and decided against the amount of conscious decoupling I’d need to do from the Apple ecosystem. Never mind the image of Balmer’s crazy eyes and sweating face I can’t get out of my head from that conference every time I see the Start button

Anyhoo – Apple wasn’t going to offer a proper hybrid with the iPad Pro –  and why would they? And canabalise their existing iPad product line?

So I can wait  a little longer whilst their hand is twisted by market forces (whilst my 5/6 year old hardware festers away) … unless they come up with another form factor you didn’t realise you needed…

Get your finger out Apple.

2_eS4KDE3lJn.878x0.Z-Z96KYq

One thought on “#Apple #SurfaceBook … when you’re ready Tim

  1. Pingback: #apple #iwatch It’s staying off… | Alan Mitchell's Blog

Leave a Reply

